SHERIFFS OF JEFFERSON COUNTY

The County of Jefferson was established May 31, 1837.

Elected Official	Year Taking Office	
N. HOLBERT	1837	
GEORGE W. TEVIS	1839	
ROBERT A. WEST	1841	
Thomas H. Lewis, Esquire, Associate Sheriff		
H.B. LITTERFIELD	1842	
DAVID GARNER	1843	

Texas was annexed by the U.S. 12/29/1845

The function of Tax Collection was separated from the Sheriff's Office. 1846

WORTHY PARTRIDGE	1847
JOHN W. MORTON	1848
WESLEY D. COTTON	1851
JAMES LUGALLS	1851
C. JOHNSON	1852
MANSFIELD GARRETT	1855
JAMES INGALLS	1857
JOHN A. BEAUMONT	1858
GABRIEL LANDRUM	1858
JAMES D. BULLOCH	1858
ARTHUR J. TEVIS	1859
WILLIAM LEWIS	1863
A.J. TEVIS	1864
WILLIAM LEWIS	1865
J.K. BEAUMONT	1865

Credit: Information in this list for officials elected prior to 2002 was compiled by Nagy K. Soliman, October 14, 2002, TX History, Lamar University

SHERIFFS OF JEFFERSON COUNTY

The County of Jefferson was established May 31, 1837.

Elected Official	Year Taking Office
ANDREW J. TEVIS	1866
GEORGE W. PAINE	1866
R.W. TEVIS	1868
E.C. OGDEN	1870
J.D. BULLOCH	1874
THOS. H. LANGHAM	1876
RAS LANDRY	1900
JAKE GILES (killed while in office 3-24-16)	1907
THOMAS H. LANGHAM	1916
THOMAS HESLIP GARNER	1917
WALTER W. COVINGTON	1929
W.W. RICHARDSON	1933
C.H. "Charley" MEYER	1947
R.E. CULBERTSON (appointed acting Sheriff)	1962
R.E. CULBERTSON	1965
Carl R. Griffith, Jr.	1989
G.W. "Mitch" Woods	1997
Zena Stephens	2017